Thursday, March 22, 2012

ECOWAS Condemns Mutiny in Mali



Press Release


The Speaker of ECOWAS Parliament, Senator Ike Ekweremadu has condemned the military mutiny in Mali, saying it is highly condemnable and totally unacceptable.

Senator Ekweremadu who reiterated that the days of military and unconstitutional takeover of power in any part of West Africa were over enjoined all members of the Malian armed forces to restrict themselves to their constitutional duties.

“This political development in Mali at a time the sub-region has achieved democratic governance and substantial regional stability at great human and material costs is an assault on the collective will and sensibilities of the peoples of West Africa and therefore totally condemnable and unacceptable”, he said.

The Speaker who threw the weight of the Community Parliament behind the position of the ECOWAS Commission on the political situationthat “ECOWAS position on Zero Tolerance to any form of forceful takeover or disruption of democratic governance in the sub-region will never be compromised as such would amount to a grievous setback for regional integration and development.”

Ekweremadu who also doubles as the Deputy President of Nigerian Senateurged the Authorities of Heads of State of ECOWAS, the African Union, United Nations and members of the international community in general to rally around Mali to defend the nation’s fledging democracy.

He expressed confidence that the committed efforts by the ECOWAS and the African Union would lead to a peaceful resolution of the rebellion in the north of Mali, urging the mutineers to “return to the barracks and not aggravate the fragile peace in the country”.

Recalling the role of the Community Parliament to protecting democratic governance in Niger Republic and the Republic of Guinea, the Speaker assured that the Parliament was observing developments in the West African country and would take further appropriate steps as events demand.

Uche Anichukwu

Special Adviser (Media) to Deputy President of the Senate

No comments: